Skip to Content

19 Best toddler christmas books for a festive season

Affiliate links may be used in this post and if so I will receive a small commission at no extra cost to you when purchasing from my site. I’m also part of the Amazon Affiliate (Associate) program where I earn a commission from sales made through my affiliate links. Read the full disclosure policy. And, our disclaimer page for important information about using this site.

Last Updated on 07/08/2024 by Nell Marie

It’s that magical time of year when twinkling lights bring Christmas aw to little ones worldwide.

If you want to make this time of year extra special, reading books about Christmas to your toddlers will ramp up that magic even more!

This article is about the best toddler Christmas books with all that amazing Christmas magic, many of which will become your child’s new favorite part of the holiday season.

Looking back over my teen boys childhood, the holiday season, with its fun movies, books, and songs, and celebrating the season was one of my favorite parts of that fleeting and special time in our lives.

I hope this list inspires you!

Related Reading
CALMING ACTIVITIES FOR KIDS
FUN SUMMER CRAFTS FOR KIDS
SUMMER ACTIVITIES FOR KIDS
TODDLER ACTIVITIES
TEACH BABY TO SIGN
INDOOR ACTIVITIES FOR TODDLERS

Pin It

best toddler christmas books

Best Toddler Christmas Books

Whether classics or new books, all about Santa, or a story about Christmas magic, you’ll find great Christmas books for toddlers below!


1- Llama Llama Jingle Bells

With short and simple rhyming text, the Llama Llama board books introduce Llama Llama to babies and toddlers before they’re ready for longer full-length stories.

And their small size and durable pages are perfect for little hands.
 
In Llama Llama Jingle Bells, little llama and his friends give gifts, sing songs, and decorate cookies. It’s a very merry holiday indeed!


2- Bear Stays Up for Christmas

In this book, Bear’s friends are set on keeping him awake for Christmas!

They rouse Bear and get him involved in finding a Christmas tree, baking cakes, hanging stockings, and singing carols.

Bear manages to stay awake and learns that the joy of giving is one of the best gifts of Christmas!


3- Construction Site on Christmas Night

Designed for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, as well as admirers of Sherri Duskey Rinker’s storytelling and AG Ford’s illustrations, this delightful holiday picture book features Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer working together to build a new home for fire engines.

As they complete their important task, each vehicle receives its own Christmas surprise. Kids will enjoy uncovering the special surprise for each vehicle while rhyming along with the story.

This charming book is sure to become a classic!


4- Little Blue Truck’s Christmas

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Little Blue Truck is spreading cheer by delivering Christmas trees to his animal friends.

Can you help count each green tree from one to five and back again?

Don’t forget to save one for Blue! Beep! Beep!

Featuring the gentle rhythm and signature illustration style that made Little Blue Truck beloved, Blue’s snowy adventure brims with holiday warmth.

With sturdy cardstock pages, a compact and child-friendly text, and flashing colored Christmas lights on the final page, this novelty gift book is sure to be the season’s favorite treat.


5- A Christmas Wish for Corduroy

It’s almost Christmas, and Corduroy is sitting on a department store shelf, wishing he could be a child’s holiday gift—but he’s just a plain bear, and nobody seems to notice him.

Determined, he sets out across the store to ask Santa Claus for help, but he can’t visit Santa without a special outfit!

After trying on hats, boots, and even baby clothes, Corduroy finally reaches the North Pole. Can Santa help Corduroy find a new home in time for Christmas?

With warm humor and classic art, A Christmas Wish for Corduroy takes readers back to the beginning, showing how Corduroy became the beloved bear we know today.

This heartwarming story about hope, perseverance, and friendship is an important addition to any Corduroy collection and the perfect way to celebrate Corduroy’s 50th anniversary.


6- How the Grinch Stole Christmas

This season of giving, offer a unique gift—a full-color edition of How the Grinch Stole Christmas!

Originally published in 1957 with just red and black ink, this new jacketed edition showcases Dr. Seuss’s original illustrations in full color for the very first time—just as he might have colored them if he published the book today.

While this edition is not a replacement for the original, it makes a delightful addition to the Dr. Seuss collection that will charm fans of all ages.

PS: The contrast between the Grinch’s drab cave and the vibrant, joyful life of the Whos in Who-ville has never been clearer!


7- Dream Snow

It’s December 24th, and the old farmer settles down for a winter’s nap, wondering how Christmas can come without snow!

In his dream, he envisions a snowstorm blanketing him and his animals—named One, Two, Three, Four, and Five—in snow.

When the farmer wakes up, he discovers it has truly snowed outside and suddenly remembers something important!

Donning his red suit, he heads outside, places gifts under the tree for his animals, and presses a button near the Christmas tree, creating a delightful musical treat for children everywhere.


8- Moo, Baa, Fa La La La La! 

The cast from the bestselling Moo, Baa, La La La! has returned with a silly holiday twist!

‘Tis the season to be jolly, so sing along with caroling sheep, giggling pigs, and dancing cows as they celebrate Christmas with this merry tune.

Deck the halls with cows and holly
while the little sheep sing
BAA, BAA, BAA!
Close the day with something mild.
Maybe go a little wild:
FA LA LA LA LA,
LA LA LA LA!


9- Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

All of the other reindeer make fun of Rudolph and won’t let him play in their reindeer games because he’s different.

But when Christmas is almost canceled because of a huge snowstorm, Rudolph comes to the rescue with his wonderful shiny red nose.

A classic every child needs in their lives!


10- Christmas in the Manger

The classic Christmas story, perfect for sharing with young children.

The gentle beauty of the first Christmas is now available as a board book.

Featuring simple, lyrical text and radiant artwork, this book allows the youngest children to experience the wonder of the Nativity.

Parents, grandparents, and caregivers have all embraced this telling.

Don’t miss this beautiful little book from the acclaimed team of Nola Buck and Felicia Bond.


11- How to Catch an Elf 

It’s Christmas Eve and an elf is on the loose… in YOUR house!

Are you up for the challenge to catch him?

Dive into this entertaining holiday story where a mischievous elf creates chaos on Christmas Eve!

Brimming with zany traps, vibrant illustrations, STEAM concepts, and even an appearance by Santa Claus, this Christmas picture book for kids is destined to become a new holiday favorite!


12- The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Peekaboo Christmas

Featuring the beloved character The Very Hungry Caterpillar, this cheerful Christmas tree-shaped book celebrates the season.

Can you spot The Very Hungry Caterpillar among ornaments, candy canes, gifts, and more?

With Eric Carle’s bright and colorful illustrations, this book is the perfect addition to every child’s library and a wonderful gift for the holidays!


13- Best Christmas Book Ever! 

It’s Christmastime in Busytown! Join Huckle Cat, Lowly Worm, and all their Busytown friends as they get ready for the holiday season!

This is a great way to introduce young children to the friendly characters in Richard Scarry’s Busytown.

Busytown is gearing up for Christmas! Kids ages three to seven can join the festivities with Huckle Cat, Lowly Worm, Postman Pig, Hilda, and more in this fun-filled holiday storybook!


14- Polar Express

A young boy, lying awake one Christmas Eve, is welcomed aboard a magical train to the North Pole…

Through dark forests, over tall mountains, and across a barren desert of ice, the Polar Express journeys to the vast city at the top of the world, where the boy will make his Christmas wish.

For millions of readers worldwide, this mysterious trip to the North Pole has become a cherished Christmas classic. In this thirtieth-anniversary edition, Chris Van Allsburg’s unique artistry is highlighted with a striking new jacket design and an expanded interior layout.


15- Mickey & Friends: Mickey’s Snowy Christmas

All Mickey wants for Christmas is snow!

There’s just one problem.

It’s still sunny and warm outside!

Will the snow arrive in time for Christmas morning?

Find out what happens in this sweet tale, featuring a perfectly paced story for little ones and a touch-and-feel element on every spread!


16- The Littlest Reindeer

Is the littlest reindeer just too little to help Santa and the other reindeers? Find out in this adorable Christmas-themed story in the bestselling Littlest series!

Dot may be the littlest reindeer in the North Pole, but she has a big desire to help Santa pull his sleigh! However, Dot just can’t seem to fly the right way, no matter how hard she runs, leaps, and kicks. Will Dot learn to fly, or is the littlest reindeer just too little?

A sweet holiday companion to the bestselling Littlest series!


17- Little Red Sleigh

The Little Red Sleigh has one big dream―to become Santa’s big red sleigh one day!

However, all her life, she’s been told she’s too small, too young, she can’t fly, and she certainly can’t meet Santa.

This Christmas, with the help of some friends, she’s determined to do the impossible.

Little Red Sleigh is a heartwarming children’s Christmas book you’ll want to read again and again.

Filled with winter joy and holiday magic, this charming Christmas story will remind readers of all ages that no dream is out of reach if you believe.


18- Santa and the Goodnight Train Board Book

Ho-ho-hold on to your teddy bear!

The Goodnight Train follows Santa’s sleigh on a magical ride through a winter wonderland in this Christmas sequel to The Goodnight Train and The Goodnight Train Rolls On!

Fa La La! Fa La La! Chooo! Chooo!

Next stop, the North Pole!

It’s Christmas Eve, and the Goodnight Train is on a roll, racing mischievous Santa through a winter wonderland.

Hear the jingle bells, taste some candy canes, and spy a flying hoof or two on a merry ride to Dreamland—with one magical detour—in this Christmas companion to The Goodnight Train and The Goodnight Train Rolls On!

Ho-ho-hold on tight for this unforgettable holiday ride!


19- The Sweet Smell of Christmas

Celebrate the sights and smells of Christmas with this classic scratch-and-sniff book—a fragrant stocking stuffer perfect for any child!

Join Little Bear as he prepares for the holidays, giving readers a chance to smell six wonderful scents, including apple pie, Christmas tree, hot chocolate, and more!

This delectable treat is a perfect way for families to enjoy the yuletide season together.

Final Thoughts

Christmas books for toddlers hold a special place in the holiday season, offering a blend of enchanting stories, vibrant illustrations, and interactive elements that captivate young minds.

These books introduce toddlers to the magic of Christmas, fostering a love for reading while building anticipation and excitement for the festivities.

From classic tales of Santa and his reindeer to heartwarming stories of friendship and giving, Christmas books for toddlers create cherished memories and establish traditions that families can enjoy year after year.

They are more than just stories; they are gateways to the wonder and joy of the season, making them treasured additions to any child’s library.

Pin for later reading